Okay, I'm obviously a little brain-dead after working eight games in a heat index of 100+ this weekend. My question deals with the ASA rule on re-entries. It says, "Any player, may be substituted or replaced and re-entered once, providing players occupy the same batting positions whenever in the line-up."
As I read that, a starter can re-enter once. But can her sub do the same? In other words, if Vicky subs for starter Stephie, and then Stephie comes back in for her, can Vicky replace Stephie again?
after working eight games in a heat index of 100+ this weekend
"Any player, may be substituted or replaced and re-entered once, providing players occupy the same batting positions whenever in the line-up."
Now if Vicky is allowed her ONE re-enty. - Stephanie is now finished for the game.
(edited for tags)
Question then.... speaking ASA, does using a sub as a courtesy runner for the pitcher or catcher have ANY affect upon the re-entry rule?? For instance, if a sub has already been inserted into the line-up once and then taken out, is that same player still eligible to be a courtesy runner?? And reversing that scenario, if a sub has previously been used as a courtesy runner for a pitcher or catcher, does that count as an "entry" and thus make her ineligible to be inserted into the line-up in a different batting position?
OR am I WAY over-thinking this whole thing and trying to compare apples to oranges??
Thanks in advance for clarification!
A courtesy runner must be a sub who has never been in the game. they may not enter the game as a sub in the same inning they were used as a courtesy runner. but as long as its not the same inning they were used as a courtesy runner, they enter the game like a normal sub would
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.