16U tourney game under ASA rules. Batter swings and misses at a pitch in the dirt that bounces off F2's shin guard and rolls up the first base line a few feet. Batter takes off for first base and drops the bat on the line. It rolls a foot or so and hits the loose ball as F2 reaches down to pick it up. Because of the contact between the bat and the ball, F2 can't get the ball to make the play.
I was the PU, and when that happened, I called Dead Ball before the batter reached first. Then I immediately realized that perhaps this wasn't a violation of anything, and motioned for my BU partner to discuss it. We both agreed that the batter did nothing intentional to affect the play. When I told him I believed it was different when a bat contacts a loose uncaught third strike than a fair batted ball, he agreed, and we left the batter at first base.
Is that the correct call?
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.