This happened in our game at a travel tourney. We were batting. One out, runners on 1st and 2nd, 1 ball and 1 strike on the batter. Next pitch nipped the bottom of the bat and hit the catcher (actually hurt the catcher and she needed some assistance). The ball bounced off the catchers gear and went about 6 feet into fair territory and the first base player caught it. It never hit the ground. So is it a foul ball or an out? The call on the field was foul ball, but the ump told me after the game that he wasn't sure and was going to check on that one.
@Allin69: Yes, exactly. And the fact that it was the catcher has nothing to do with it. It was foul because the first thing it hit was in foul territory. (Note: Foul tip is a whole different beast!)
Yes, exactly. And the fact that it was the catcher has nothing to do with it. It was foul because the first thing it hit was in foul territory. (Note: Foul tip is a whole different beast!)
Speaking ASA, it is foul because Rule 1.Foul Ball.G says it is. Simply touching a ball over foul territory doesn't make it foul but can still be caught for an out. 1.FB.G clearly states that if caught, the batter is not out.
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.