Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3919 Views 14 Replies Latest reply: Nov 13, 2010 9:30 AM by PatriciaThompson908 RSS
thoeting Rookie 1 posts since
Sep 3, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 11, 2010 11:38 AM

What if the C25k is too hard?

First of all, let me apologize if this has already been posted. I searched for quite a while and didn't find it. But I'm new to this forum so I'm still learning.

I've tried the C25K and I can't keep up, even from the first day. I can't jog for 90 seconds and then keep my heartrate in an aerobic zone.

I'm overweight by 75 pounds, although I've lost 25 in the past 6 months.(Down from 250  to  225)  I'm 49 and although my knees aren't bad, I don't think they are too good.

I do great on the elliptical, easily can go 45 minutes to an hour keeping my heart rate in a good area.

But I really want to run - it looks so pretty and simple

So, what do I do?

• PaulinWi Pro 117 posts since
    Oct 28, 2010
    1. Nov 11, 2010 1:01 PM (in response to thoeting)
    Re: What if the C25k is too hard?

Listen to your body.  The 9 weeks is a guideline, many people have taken longer.  Just strive for a little improvement each time, each week, whatever works for you.  Running is a journey and 1/2 the fun is getting there.  If you have to walk more than do so.  Keep with it and you will notice improvement over the long run.

Graduated C25K 10/29/2010

OHR Progress: Graduated 1/9/11

Hal Higdon Modified Half Program:Week 12 Done

5K:The Elf Run-Nov. 28th-31.32.03

5K:Run into the New Year-Dec.31-32.24.8

5K:Great Lakes Expo 5K-Jan. 30th-28.59.67