Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2251 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Dec 3, 2010 5:57 AM by Scrufffy RSS
BetterHeather Rookie 6 posts since
Nov 26, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 26, 2010 1:57 PM

Cold Weather Gear?

I am a newbie to running outdoors and wanted to know what kind of gear I should have that will keep me warm in the winter but won't make me overheat either?

Thanks!

11/20/10:  EWEB Run to Stay Warm 5k 55:49

BHAG #1:  To do a 5k walk/run every month through June 2011, then a 10k walk/run through December 2011!

BHAG #2:  40 pounds lost, 120 left to go!

"Not everything that is faced can be changed. 

But nothing can be changed until it is faced."  -James Baldwin

• gdsmit1 Legend 332 posts since
    Sep 20, 2010
    1. Nov 26, 2010 6:30 PM (in response to BetterHeather)
    Re: Cold Weather Gear?

I can't really give any recomendations, since this is my first winter running.  However, there's a cool what to wear app over on Runner's World.

http://www.runnersworld.com/cda/whattowear/0,7152,s6-240-325-330-0-0-0-0-0,00.html

Just fill in some details and it gives some recomendations.

Greg

Nike + id: gdsmit1

Graduated C25K: 26 December 2010

Upcoming races:

• Surfing_Vol Legend 848 posts since
    Nov 6, 2007
    2. Nov 26, 2010 6:51 PM (in response to BetterHeather)

To give you a realy specific answer, more information is needed: How cold is going to get where you are?  Are you going to run in ice or deep snow?

That said, here are the basics for cold weather running, keeping in mind that you don't want to overheat --