Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2529 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Nov 30, 2010 5:45 PM by Thrash1
LPARafael Pro 166 posts since
Sep 13, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 24, 2010 12:53 PM

Energy bars, gels, coffee???!!!

I am fairly new to running - actually I call it still partly jogging and partly walking - as I have been doing this about three months now.  I started it as part of a weight loss routine - lost 45 pounds and started feeling good about things, no more arthritic pain in the knees, so i started walking about April.  Pretty soon I was able to increase my distance and speed, to the point where I was going to attempt to walk a half marathon.  My pace was down to a sub15 MM and purely walking.  I was unable to participate in the half marathon as I had to travel for work, but I digress.  I figured that if I wanted to build in some wiggle room to complete a half marathon I should start jogging a bit and so far so good.  I have completed three 5Ks so far and all have been under 35 minutes, the last being 31:40.  If I am to increase my distance, as well as my time, I need to get better educated in a lot of things.  One of these things is maintaing proper nutrition during my training, as well as during the races themselves.  I don't know anything about energy bars or gels from a bath gel.  For the 5Ks I have been going to Starbucks for a tall coffee and a coffee cake to start off my day.  I hear about carbo loading the previous night for the longer distances, but nothing about what I need during the race.  Any help is greatly appreciated.