Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

892 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Dec 20, 2007 11:54 PM by CoachB008 RSS
ThePunisher065 Amateur 61 posts since
Jul 23, 2004
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 2, 2006 7:02 PM

NCAA questions

What's the best/most competitive track and field college in the nation?

What's the difference between divisions?
(I, II, III, IA, etc.)

I'm a sophomore in high school now, and I'm going to the Junior Olympic qualifier. I want to know this for future references.

• roblemke Rookie 12 posts since
    Dec 14, 2007
    1. Feb 2, 2006 8:49 PM (in response to ThePunisher065)
    Re: NCAA questions

I don't follow the NCAA's that closely anymore but in the past certain schools were known for the events they excelled at. For example Villanova and Arkansas for distance runners, Texas schools for sprinters.  The California (UCLA,USC,Stanford)schools always did well.  Check out the current and previous years results of the NCAA Championships.

The main difference between the divisions is the scholarships they can offer. I went to a Division III school. No athletic scholarships there.

Good luck.

• Professor010 Legend 613 posts since
    Nov 6, 2002
    2. Dec 20, 2007 11:54 PM (in response to ThePunisher065)

"D2 is less competative academically and athletically."

This statement is totally false. A school's athletic division is based on enrollment, the size of its athleitc budget, and the strength of its football and basketball program.