Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3845 Views 12 Replies Latest reply: Dec 14, 2010 5:59 PM by JasonFitz1 RSS
emiles1234 Amateur 8 posts since
Dec 5, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 5, 2010 9:55 AM

I need a lower time

I am a freshman in high school but i ran in the 5k varsity races. I thought i did good. My best time was 23:32. But I really want to get around 21 minutes because I think it will make me more part of the team. Any tips for getting a much lower time?

• ZenPacer42 Rookie 4 posts since
    Dec 5, 2010
    1. Dec 5, 2010 10:09 PM (in response to emiles1234)
    Re: I need a lower time

5k races are mostly aerobic events. So between now and the start of next race season, focus on building your aerobic engine. Do nothing but easy aerobic running. Here's a good page by the great triathlete Mark Allen that will tell you how to do it safely and surely:

http://www.markallenonline.com/heartrate.asp

http://www.markallenonline.com/Base.asp

Make sure you stagger your hard days (longer time on feet) with low volume of time or rest days in between.For example:

M- 1 -1.5 hours (hard)

T- 45 minutes (easy)

W-1- 1.5 hours  (hard)

T--off  (easy)

F--1.5 to 2 hours  (hard)

S--off  (easy)

S--45 minutes  (easy)

You get the picture. Something like that.

Run by time, not distance. Your body only knows time. An elite runner can run 20 miles at an easy pace in 2 hours, while an amateur might only be able to run 13 in two hours at the same relative easy effort. You don't need to run more time than an elite.