Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2617 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Jan 31, 2011 12:22 PM by PaulSerra
CalebHanson Rookie 2 posts since
May 21, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 17, 2010 10:37 AM

Winter running - Freezing Mr. Winky!

This is for the guys out there who run year round in winter climates. I need gear advice so that my junk doesn't freeze and snap off.

I live in Colorado, and this is my first year of running through the winter here. I went for a run the other night, and it was about 25 degrees and windy. I think the wind was what did it, but by about mile 5, I thought my pecker was going to have frostbite. It was not comfortable or fun, and I'm not looking to repeat this. I was wearing Hot Chilis base layer, under armor compression shorts and then addidas pants on top.

I've looked to see if there's some kind of fleece sausage-sleeve or junk-glove out there, and I've not seen this addressed anywhere. Am I the only one who's had this problem? Any advice on combating "frozen winky syndrome"?

• Scrufffy Legend 252 posts since
    Dec 2, 2010
    1. Dec 17, 2010 9:12 PM (in response to CalebHanson)
    Re: Winter running - Freezing Mr. Winky!