Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1725 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Jan 9, 2011 11:49 PM by LemonaidLucy
KleinFireman Expert 45 posts since
Dec 27, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 9, 2011 10:23 AM

Help about shoes

Hi Guys,

I am pretty new to running and I am two weeks into the C25K program. By the sound of things I am way bigger than the average runner on this site wieghing in at 250lbs. I have done the first two weeks in a pair of old tennis shoes, that were expenisive and great for playing tennis but have taken a beating and nearing the end of their life. So, I am in the market for a new pair of proper running shoes. I went to Fleet Feet today and the girl there allowed me to try quite a few pairs and was a wonderful help. But, before throwing down well over $100 on a pair of shoes I thought I would ask what people are using on here. The two shoes I thought were the best were Nike Zoom Vomero 5 and Mizuno Wave Creation 5 and a friend of mine who ran the NY marathon last year swears by ASICS.

So, I would love to hear what people think about the kinds of shoes you wear.

Thanks.

God created Firemen so Cops could have heroes too.

Week 1 Done, bring on Week 2.

• flamomof3 Legend 1,928 posts since
    Dec 14, 2007
    1. Jan 9, 2011 11:12 AM (in response to KleinFireman)
    Re: Help about shoes

I'm no expert when it comes to shoes, I know I wouldn't spend more than $100 for a pair but that's just me.. I have a simple pair of Asics Gel with No bells or Whistles and paid $50. I love them!

• rah2074 Pro 69 posts since
    Jan 25, 2010