Skip navigation

964 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Jan 16, 2011 1:47 PM by Manny_A RSS
FALLUIC__1 Rookie 2 posts since
Jun 14, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 15, 2011 3:28 PM

Runner misses plate - no tag made

When is a play over when the runner misses the plate and no tag is made?

Is the runner out when he returns to the dugout?

This came up during the Ravens Steelers game when there was a fumble and the ball sat on the ground for a few seconds before a Raven player realized there was no whistle and picked the ball up and scored a touchdown. I was talking to a friend and stated it reminded me of a play at the plate.

Thank you

Jay

  • Michael_Taylor Community Moderator 318 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Jan 15, 2011 9:23 PM (in response to FALLUIC__1)
    Re: Runner misses plate - no tag made

    If the defense makes no appeal that the runner missed the plate the count the run. The only thing going in the dugout does if make it so the  runner can't retouch. This is why we teach umpires not to point at the plate when a runner scores. If he misses the plate and you don't point then you are alerting the defense. If you do point then you are saying he touched and didn't.





    Michael S. Taylor

  • Manny_A Legend 841 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    2. Jan 16, 2011 1:47 PM (in response to FALLUIC__1)
    Re: Runner misses plate - no tag made

    Jay, as Mike mentioned, this is not an "automatic" out like you would have when a runner abandons a base.  The defense has to appeal a miss of home plate, per rule 7.10(d).  Until the runner goes into the dugout, he can return back and touch home.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 7 points