Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

7792 Views 17 Replies Latest reply: May 4, 2013 8:11 PM by IrwinSnowBum 1 2 Previous Next
oreo speedwagon Rookie 9 posts since
Jun 25, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 17, 2010 6:15 AM

New to Trail Running and Need some advice

I have been running for several years.  I have completed 4 marathons and several 1/2 marathons. Over the past 6 months I have only been running about 3 times/week and my long right now is 6 miles.

I want to try trail running and their is a local 25K in March.  That seems like plenty of time to train.  What do you guys think?

Also, I haven't done any actual train running.  I do all my running on the road.  How much training do I need to do on trails?

One more thing.  What equipment do I need?  Do I really need trail shoes or can I just use my regular running shoes.

THANKS!

• Surfing_Vol Legend 848 posts since
    Nov 6, 2007
    1. Nov 17, 2010 7:10 AM (in response to oreo speedwagon)
    Re: New to Trail Running and Need some advice

I love trail running, and don't do enough of it.