Skip navigation

2139 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Jan 22, 2011 10:31 AM by WendyMader RSS
steve07 Rookie 2 posts since
Nov 6, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 8, 2008 5:51 PM

heart rate training

Hi I am new to triathlons being only my second year. Last year I completed two sprints and it went pretty well considering finishing was the goal. I am hooked and have signed up for two more sprints and an olympic distance event this year. I have been reading alot about heart rate zones and recently bought a monitor. Unfortunatley here lies the problem. my information from reading says to train 65% to 70% of mhr while base training for endurance to achieve this rate I can go no faster than a fast walk. After taking a couple months off I've been training 5 to 6 days a week on my run days I will do 3 to 5 miles but my rate is up about 175 and the heart rate tests say my max is 180 any suggestions       while running at a heart rate of 175 i can still carry one sentence conversations

• Gottavtr Amateur 10 posts since
    Jul 20, 2009
    1. Mar 5, 2010 1:07 PM (in response to steve07)
    Re: heart rate training