Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

4033 Views 13 Replies Latest reply: Jan 25, 2011 4:54 AM by DadtoTwins
BethanyWylie Rookie 1 posts since
Jan 15, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 15, 2011 8:10 PM

I am a Newbie runner, walking on treadmill ready to run, just stating out any advice?

I am walking on a treamill and wanting to do a 5K in 4 months. At this time I am walking, but not running. Any advise is great. What do you suggest?

• EricaJo08 Rookie 3 posts since
    Jan 15, 2011

http://www.c25k.com/c25k_treadmill.html

I just started it today but it is simple enough... even for someone very out of shape!

• retiredgirl61 Pro 171 posts since
    Dec 3, 2010

I recommend the C25K (Couch to 5K), too.  You might like to take a look at the "Calling all Penguins" thread -- there's lots of success stories there with people who have used the C25K to transition.  Have fun!

Retired, but not watching TV much

Started walking/running 9/2010

Folsom Turkey Trot 5 K 2010 (walked)

Valentines Day 4 mile run, 2/12/11 1:00:30

Starting triathalon training w/coach 3/1/11

Komen Sacramento Race for the Cure 5K 5/7/11 (walk with friends)

Tri for Fun Sprint 6/4/11 (2:55)

Crew for Bike Team, Race Across America 6/16-26/11 (6 days, 16 hr, 7 min)

Tri for Fun Sprint 7/9/11 (2:46)

Tri for Fun Sprint 8/7/11 (2:31)

Luna Bar Women's Tri 9/11/11 (3:17)

Golden State Sprint Tri 10/9/11 (DNF)

• quidna Amateur 16 posts since
    Jan 15, 2011