Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2199 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Feb 11, 2011 3:52 PM by edardofoz
edardofoz Rookie 3 posts since
Feb 10, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 10, 2011 4:54 PM

how should my foot hit the ground? how slow is too slow?

hi there

I'm new to running. Up to week four of the C25K. Trying hard to avoid injury - especially shin splints, which sound horrible.

I'm not sure how my feet should hit the ground. At the moment I land with pretty flat foot and this feels heavy.

Advice online is conflicting. it ranges from: "your heel should definitely hit the ground first" to "under no circumstances should your heel make any contact with the ground". What should I be doing? And does this change as you get faster/fitter?

Also I'm jogging quite slowly (a tip from a friend to avoid shin splints), but I've read that slow running is pointless and you are better to walk quickly, which has the fitness benefits without injury-risk associated with impact.

thanks for the help.

Ed

• bottster Rookie 1 posts since
    Jul 15, 2010

I'm not an expert, but I find that usually running slightly forward on the foot is best.  If you hit too hard on your heal, you can risk injuring your legs.  Also, run at a speed you're comfortable with, but try a speed for the run.  My weekly routine includes  short easy runs two to three times a week with slower speeds, one long day with slow speeds and then days where I do speed workouts once or twice a week.  Try mixing it up, it will keep the running more fun and get you into shape faster.  I hope that helps.