Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2916 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Feb 15, 2011 1:05 AM by Run4Coffee RSS
tremaine5 Rookie 2 posts since
Nov 9, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 2, 2011 12:16 PM

Completed c25k ~ 1/2 marathon ~ how do I increase speed?

I am a newbie runner, 50 year old female, who started running about 6 months ago.  I have completed the C25K and ran the Las Vegas Rock and Roll Half Marathon in December 2010.  I'm still running about 3 days/week, but my speed is still very slow ~ about the same as when I started....how do I build speed?  I listen to different podcasts/music programs, and feel like I'm keeping up with the music, but I'm still at the 14 - 15 min/mile mark...and I'd like to comfortably run 4 miles in less than an hour.  Does anyone have any tips?  Thanks for your help! 

Denise

• ColoCorredor Pro 97 posts since
    Dec 14, 2010

Hi tremaine5,

Congrats on keeping up with your training, and for completing the Half-marathon in Vegas!  The Rock n Roll events are so much fun, and are a good way to check out other races :-)  I've done several of their events including those in San Diego & Denver.