Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3224 Views 12 Replies Latest reply: Mar 28, 2011 9:17 AM by NorCal02466 RSS
shawnmilar Rookie 7 posts since
Mar 18, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 18, 2011 11:50 AM

New Here - Looking to Lose Weight

Hi all!  I just joined here with the help from a fried who recommended it.  I am new to this and kind of excited to start interacting and to help me get through this.  I am about 30 lbs over weight and have not worked out in about 10 years.  I work from home and just have not been too active in a long time.  Well things are about to change!!  I just signed up for the Encinitas, CA 5k in a couple of months and am looking forward to it.  My goal is to get out and be active 3 - 4 times a week and "get back into it".  I believe that this is the right place to help me with the motovation I need.  I just wanted to say thank you and I really look forward to sharing my progress!

• flamomof3 Legend 1,927 posts since
    Dec 14, 2007
    1. Mar 18, 2011 5:56 PM (in response to shawnmilar)
    Re: New Here - Looking to Lose Weight

Congrast for taking the step to be healthy! I would start the c25k, you run 3 days a week for 9 weeks. People have gone from the couch to running a 5k or 30 minutes following this plan. good luck!

• Khodges360 Rookie 1 posts since
    Mar 29, 2009
    2. Mar 18, 2011 6:55 PM (in response to shawnmilar)