Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3021 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: Mar 23, 2011 7:27 PM by camcat82 RSS
mrsfent Pro 62 posts since
Mar 16, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 16, 2011 9:45 AM

new to running, need motivation!

Hi,I am new to this whole running thing and need serious motivation! I did my first 5k a few weeks ago and ended up walking the whole thing. My goal was to jog as much as I could but i just didn't. I trained for a couple weeks prior to the 5k and about 2 weeks before the 5k I lost interest/motivation. Plus I don't have a buddy to jog with so that doesn't help. I guess I just need help setting realistic goals and some serious motivation. I can tell myself all day long that I'm gonna workout after work (that's the best time for me) and most of the time I talk myself out of it and just don't feel like it. Reading through all these threads has motivated me just to see that it is possible being 200+ lbs. I would love to do another 5k but i can barely even jog for very long so I've got a lot of work ahead of me.

Wendy 33, Arizona
Mom of 3 wild & crazy kids
Started C25K on 3-21-11

My goal is to lose weight and feel and look better.
I've been overweight long  enough and I'm sick of it!

I want to be in better shape for myself and  my kids. 

Trying to figure out how to get and stay motivated!!

The best way to get your rear end off the couch is to put your feet on the ground and start moving!

• drbojangles Pro 110 posts since
    Mar 7, 2011
    1. Mar 16, 2011 9:51 AM (in response to mrsfent)
    Re: new to running, need motivation!