Skip navigation

1233 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Apr 27, 2011 10:55 AM by quadzilla1 RSS
Kaela1 Rookie 1 posts since
Mar 28, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 28, 2011 6:28 PM

Strength Training?

I started training for a sprint triathlon this summer. I'm working out 6 days a week swimming 2-33 times a week for about an hour each time, biking 2-3 times a week for about an hour, and running 4 times a week 30-45 minutes each time. I'm doing 2 bricks a week, but should I be doing strength training as well? If so, what exercises should I do?

• kapfast Pro 53 posts since
    May 30, 2007
    1. Mar 29, 2011 9:29 AM (in response to Kaela1)
    Re: Strength Training?

Great question, and I wish I had an answer for you. There have been many arguements for and against strength training while training for a Tri. It all depends how much your body can handle. Try it out for a few weeks, and see it it works for you. Add a 30 min strength training session before a run or bike workout, but don't over do it at first.

If you do decide to strength train, I would highly recommend you start with exercises to develope your core strength (core is key to all aspects of the triathlon: swim, bike, run).

Good Luck with your race!

KP

http://trigratitude.blogspot.com/

• BT.ROB Legend 272 posts since
    May 12, 2009
    2. Apr 4, 2011 3:22 PM (in response to Kaela1)

I incorporate strength training into my work out plans; more during the winter but I continue throughout the tri-season. Here are a number of articles on Active.com for you to look at: http://www.active.com/triathlon/Articles/Strength-Training-for-Triathletes.htm The Dave Allen set is a good starter. And as previously mentioned, work on your core!

Have fun and good luck.

BT

• NzAndy Pro 77 posts since
    Oct 23, 2010
    3. Apr 4, 2011 8:03 PM (in response to BT.ROB)