Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2503 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Jun 5, 2011 1:22 PM by quadzilla1 RSS
jneptune Amateur 21 posts since
Sep 24, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 7, 2011 10:59 AM

Electrolyte Drink Preferences?

I've been running long distances for a few years now and have yet to find the perfect electrolyte drink. Some products upset my stomach unless I dilute them heavily and others settle much better but I don't think they're packing enough essential electrolytes... I'm just curious to hear what electrolyte drinks most runners prefer during long runs?

Thanks!

"True enjoyment comes from activity of the mind and exercise of the body; the two are ever united."

-Karl Wilhelm von Humboldt

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Talent is God-given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful."

-John Wooden

• Runningcolorado Expert 50 posts since
    Mar 4, 2009
    1. Apr 7, 2011 1:11 PM (in response to jneptune)
    Re: Electrolyte Drink Preferences?

I use Powerade Zero during my long runs.  I haven't had any problems w/it.  I used to use Gatorade, but changed when Powerade came out w/the zero calorie drink.  I usually put ice in my water bottle to keep it cold during warmer weather, so it may get diluted a little.  But, I don't use ice in the winter months.