Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

22210 Views 152 Replies Latest reply: May 31, 2011 6:24 AM by GramaVal RSS 1 2 3 ... 11 Previous Next
Road2Slimdom Amateur 31 posts since
Apr 20, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 20, 2011 10:01 AM

Did my first run yesterday (19th April) anyone else just starting?

Hi,

I did my first every run yesterday, tomorrow I'm swtiching to the C25K, as it seems a lot more people are doing that than the plan in my book 'Running Made Easy'.

I'm a complete beginner at this, I've tried running twice before with my Hubby, but he's too fast for me and I end feeling like I'm gonna die ... lol ... so this time it's just me, bottle of water and my OES (Old English Sheepdog) ... My ultimate dream has always been to do a Marathon, I hope this is the start of my journey towards that.

I'd love some company, also tips from those been running a bit longer would be fantastic!

Anyone else just starting? ... Fancy joining me?

Deb xx

Deb xx

Postive Thoughts Create ~ Positive Feelings ~ Create Positive Actions

Started WW on 10th Jan 2011 ~ 1st 8lb's loss so far

BMI down to 27.54

I can and I will do this ~ nothing is impossible if you want it bad enough!

• KIRK_T Legend 279 posts since
    Jun 25, 2010

Deb,

Sounds like you have a good mental attitude towards this which is a key part.

The C25K is a good way to get into running, and you need to do it at your own pace.

Just take your time & learn to listen to your body, it will tell you when you can go more or when you should take it easy.

Kirk

Kirk: Started running again at 50.