Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

664 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Apr 23, 2011 6:05 AM by Manny_A
jcecil99 Rookie 1 posts since
Jul 2, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 18, 2011 8:05 PM

Dropped third strike question

During a recent game we had the following situation (and our league uses the dropped 3rd strike rule):

Top of the 6th, 2 outs, runners on 2nd and 3rd, 2-2 count on the batter.

On the next pitch the batter swung at a low pitch and missed for strike 3 and the ball gets by the catcher.

The runner from third comes running to home, the catcher instead of just throwing to first makes an attempt on the runner from third and misses the tag.

While this is going on the batter has stopped 7-8 steps down the first base line, not sure what to do i guess, then takes off.

Catcher throws to first and gets them out.

Umpire SCORES the run.  Would this be the correct call since the catcher made an attempt on the base runner before the batter?

Or would it still be a "force out" at first no matter how long it took and the run should have not been counted?

 

And of course the winning margin was 1 run!

  • Manny_A Legend 841 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Apr 23, 2011 6:05 AM (in response to jcecil99)
    Re: Dropped third strike question

    Since the batter-runner was retired for the final out before she legally reached first base, then the run should not count.  The fact that a runner scored on a play at home has no bearing on the fact that the batter-runner was put out at first base before she achieved it.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 7 points