Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

3037 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Apr 25, 2011 8:18 AM by Dusty__11
Ron__295 Rookie 5 posts since
May 30, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 6, 2011 1:16 PM

Attitude Letter to Parents and Players

I sent an email out a few weeks ago while my 14U team had a couple of lackluster tournaments back to back.  It really seemed to strike a chord with the parents and players and I have never seen the boys play harder or with a better attitude and hustle than the past few weekends.  Maybe some of this can help you with you players and/or parents.

"The week off gives me a chance to send out an email as I do from time to time to explain what I am doing and why.

I have some unique experience in this business in that few people have coached previously a different 14U team and been so involved in assisting and watching my former players and own son get recruited by college baseball programs and pro scouts.

With my last team I noticed a change in several players during the 14U year.  When a lot of kids get older, they start to develop that teenage "I know everything and you don't know anything" mentality.  It is also a time when they develop more interests outside baseball.  Some of these are healthy and some not.  14-24 is commonly a time in a young man's life where he feels that the entire world revolves around him and the adults in their lives are there to support them and ensure their happiness.

This mentality can really hurt kids on their future endeavors.  I know that it hurt me when I was that age, as my own arrogance led me to tune out the coaches and I gradually stopped working hard and was distracted by other activities.  My coaches were on me about it, but I thought they were idiots and full of crap and were riding me all the time because they didn't like me.  I realized later, when it was too late, that they were trying to keep me from ruining my future.