Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2099 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Apr 27, 2011 6:57 AM by camcat82
Michelle74149 Pro 138 posts since
Mar 4, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 26, 2011 9:29 AM

Running and talking

I keep reading articles that say you can make the miles pass more quickly by talking with someone. I can not imagine being able to chat and run. Does that come with time? Also, I just read an article that said if you can hear your breathing, you're pace is too fast. Seriously?

I'm new to running. I completed the couch to 5K program on March 11th.

First 5k, Seafarer's House,  completed April 2nd! 33:49

http://andsosheran.blogspot.com/

• freesia777 Pro 98 posts since
    Mar 13, 2011
    1. Apr 26, 2011 9:43 AM (in response to Michelle74149)
    Re: Running and talking

I'm looking forward to replies on this one.  While I have heard that when you're running you should be able to maintain a conversation with someone, I haven't heard that you shouldn't be able to hear yourself breathe.  I sure hope that's not the case!  Otherwise, my 4.5 mph is too fast!!

Kate in NH

Started C25K: 03/16/2011

First 5K: 06/04/2011 (Over the River and Through the Woods 5K, Concord, NH): 40:30!!

Second 5K: 08/04/2011 (Thunder Chicken 5K, Portsmouth, NH): 39:32!!

Third 5K: 10/09/2011 (Great Island 5K, New Castle, NH): 38:18!!

Current words to live by: "4 mph is faster than the couch" --FaithInSC

• LPARafael Pro 166 posts since
    Sep 13, 2010
    2. Apr 26, 2011 9:47 AM (in response to Michelle74149)