Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3037 Views 14 Replies Latest reply: Apr 27, 2011 7:42 PM by Rubyseventyfour RSS
Rubyseventyfour Rookie 7 posts since
Apr 25, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 26, 2011 6:07 AM

Newbie here :   Running and breathing !

G'day,

My name is Helen and I am just starting to run. I have a deadline to meet in August this year for applications into the Police Force, and a friend of mine suggested this site

My problem is trying to breathe while running. I have started from scratch : eg run 1 minute, walk 1 minute etc, which is ok, but anymore than 2 minutes I can't go any futher

any suggestions on how to get my breathing under control.?

Thanks  x

• Team RRT AGH Rookie 1 posts since
    Sep 15, 2009
    1. Apr 26, 2011 7:39 AM (in response to Rubyseventyfour)
    Re: Newbie here : Running and breathing !

I have several suggestions.

1.  I don't know what pace you are running at, but you may want to consider that you are running too fast, try slowing things down just a bit, try a shuffle and as your endurence increases so will your speed.

2.  If you use an ipod, you may want to download or purchace some running cadence.  Candence is designed to help regulate your breathing.  All branches of the military use it while running in formations.  The person leading the group calls out the cadence and the formation repeats it back.