Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1623 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: May 5, 2011 8:16 AM by LPARafael RSS
stanton816 Rookie 3 posts since
Mar 28, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 22, 2011 2:35 PM

Running Training Classes--are they worthwhile?

Hello,

I'm a newish runner.  I've been running for a couple months, have run a 5k (about 24 mins), and can run 6 miles at about a 9 minute per mile pace.  The training is with a nice running shop in the DC area.  A lot of the coaches are or were super athletes or train college students in the area.  Has any one done anything like this with good or bad results?

Hopes:

1- To run with people watching who can help my running style

2- Have others running at same time to help me push myself a bit more

3-  Increase my speed and distance

Fears:

1- I'll embarrass myself with my lack of ability/knowledge

2- Everyone will be immensely better

3- No one will be there and the coaches won't care or provide any personal attention/help

• JJ2008 Rookie 1 posts since
    Aug 27, 2008
    1. Apr 22, 2011 4:24 PM (in response to stanton816)
    Re: Running Training Classes--are they worthwhile?

I believe you will benefit from this.  You are running a 5k at 24 mins, you should be middle of the pack depending on the area you are in.  You will push yourself harder with other people than when by yourself.  I run with a group from my gym and it helped me drop from 8 min miles to 7:19 min miles in a 10 mile race last weekend.  We trained together for 6 weeks prior.  You should give it a try!  Good luck...

• scotth0911 Expert 42 posts since