Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

2955 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Aug 4, 2011 11:15 AM by Kristenrf
GARZAB Rookie 2 posts since
May 13, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 1, 2011 7:04 PM

Bra with a trisuit??

I hate that I'm asking this question but I usually feel too awkward asking the guys at the sporting good stores about this. I'm a larger female and I'm just starting out with tri's. I fit fine into trisuits but I definitely don't think they have much nearly as much support I need being that I have, well, a large chest. Is there a particular brand reccomended for this? or would it be terribly awkward if I wore a regular bra under my trisuit? The little built in fabric ones I've seen just aren't cutting it.

• Marzipan16 Pro 59 posts since
    Dec 19, 2007
    1. Mar 1, 2011 7:47 PM (in response to GARZAB)
    Re: Bra with a trisuit??

I wear a tri 'bikini-style' top underneath my tri suits to keep the girls in.  I have a TYR maxback and 2XU Comp (my favorite).  I like the 2XU a little more because there is little/no chafing and the cut is a little higher on top, so when I start running I know I won't have wardrobe malfunction.  Also, I only say tri-specific because the wicking is better and less chafing.  I will even wear my tri tops on my training workouts because of comfort.

• IronMakeover Community Moderator 738 posts since
    Jul 7, 2008
    2. Mar 2, 2011 7:15 AM (in response to GARZAB)

Great question, you are not alone! I've experimented with several brands/styles/cuts underneath a tri top/suit. Play around with how the cut of the sports bra lines up with your tri top & wetsuit if you're doing an open water swim. Some of my sports bras were lower cut in the front & created more drag, even under a tri top. Other sports bras have thicker material all around and therefore hold water long after you've left the swim segment. Also look at the cut of the sides & how low it sits under your arm, you could have chafing with a wetsuit.