Skip navigation

1333 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: May 12, 2011 5:29 PM by quadzilla1 RSS
WaterInMyWind Rookie 1 posts since
May 3, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

May 9, 2011 6:34 PM

worried about hydration

I am new to Triathlons and am doing my first sprint in June! I am a little uncomfortable on my roadbike still and reaching for my water bottle throws me off sometimes and I feel like I'm gonna wipe out! I know I know I should be able to do this LOL...But, I'd rather not stress about it so I was thinking of using a camel back type thing...anyone have experience with this? Is it a good idea?

thanks SO much for any advice

• Joe_h1 Community Moderator 1,833 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    1. May 10, 2011 1:23 PM (in response to WaterInMyWind)
    Re: worried about hydration

I used a camelback last year for a couple races and only issue I had was refilling it on long rides.  I'd have to stop and get a bottle then reopen the camelback. took a long time but that was for long course races.

goals for 2011:

break 19minutes for 5k

break 2:42 for olympic triathlon probably Anthracite olympic

break 3:16 for marathon ( a long shot but it's fun putting yourself out there)

• BT.ROB Legend 272 posts since
    May 12, 2009
    2. May 10, 2011 1:33 PM (in response to WaterInMyWind)

For Sprints since you are not on the bike very long (less than an hour, usually) you may not need to take a water at all. That depends on how hot it is and how much you sweat. Take a hit in transition, maybe with some gel, and then again after the bike. There are usually a couple of aid stations on the road if you feel dehydrated, but your body can go without water for this time period. If you do take a camelback, take a small one and don't fill it more than 20 ounces or so. In the meantime, practice, practice, practice (this includes putting a bottle in and taking it out of a cage). Good luck and have fun.

BT

• quadzilla1 Expert 39 posts since
    May 30, 2010