Skip navigation

1082 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Aug 2, 2011 6:54 PM by Az_Umpire
lennynyr Rookie 5 posts since
May 3, 2006
Currently Being Moderated

May 14, 2011 7:18 PM

Interference or Incidental contact

F4 playing deep, R1 on first.  BR hits a slow ground ball.  F4 charges in and collides with R1 with both in motion.   I called it incidental contact since in my judgment, both fielder and runner were in motion and just collided.   The other umpire said I should have called interference.  Who's right?

  • Az_Umpire Amateur 11 posts since
    May 30, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Aug 2, 2011 6:54 PM (in response to lennynyr)
    Re: Interference or Incidental contact

    Who's right? Not you. A defensive player fielding a batted ball has the protection and intent is not required by the runner. Dead ball the runner is out. If F4 was not protected by you (as another defensive player fileded the ball) than obstruction should be called. This has to be one or the other.



More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...


  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 7 points