Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3404 Views 16 Replies Latest reply: May 19, 2011 12:46 PM by RandyRyan7 RSS 1 2 Previous Next
BroncosMom Rookie 4 posts since
May 18, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

May 18, 2011 11:57 AM

I'm so frustrated

A little bit of history. I have never worked out or exercised in my life. I hated it. I have been doing cardio/strength for about 6 months now. Had a friend successfully complete the c25k program and so I thought eh what the heck. 3 weeks later and I am still on week one. My ankles, and my calves will not cooperate AT ALL! I've tried to work on my stride, I've tried to slow down, I've tried to go faster, I've tried a treadmill, I've tried outside, I've tried all kinds of stretches. I just do not know what to do. I really want to run. For the first 10 minutes all is good in the walking and running and then boom it hurts so bad. I keep fighting through it but I'm not going to be able to do that much longer. It's killing my legs. I do the rest days. I do everything it says. I just don't know what else to try. I just want to be able to run! Help! Please. I beg you.

What am I doing wrong?

xo

Julie

• lenzlaw Community Moderator 10,324 posts since
    Jan 18, 2008
    1. May 18, 2011 12:21 PM (in response to BroncosMom)
    Re: I'm so frustrated

A couple possibilities:

Shoes - are you in the right shoes?  If you haven't, you need to go to a good running store, have them watch you run and make sure you're in shoes appropriate for your gait.  It makes a difference.