Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1878 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Dec 17, 2007 6:41 AM by SherpaGirl RSS
brooklyngrrl Rookie 4 posts since
Sep 16, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 8, 2007 12:15 PM

XTERRA Boney Mountain Trail Run

I am running the XTERRA Boney Mt. 6K in January. I am a novice at trail running, but I train pretty hard in other areas. This will be my first competitive trail running event. I want to get an idea of how technical the trail is and any suggestions for a training program. Any suggestions would be appreciated.  Thanks.

• katt1 Amateur 9 posts since
    Oct 31, 2007
    1. Dec 8, 2007 12:14 PM (in response to brooklyngrrl)
    Re: XTERRA Boney Mountain Trail Run

Hi,

I have been trail and mountain running for about 3-4 years now. I would highly recommend looking on the website

for a possible hill profile of the race. You will want to practice what the hills would be like in the race and the

closest feet/altitude like the race. I also then train short hills and longer ones for strengh in all the different areas.

You also want to run a little further then the race will be as well. I like to train the hills a little harder then

will be in the race,,,but REALLY try to check out the profile!!!This way you will know when you can go faster

and not burn your self out, and or mentally be ready to kick butt with upcoming/down hills.

Practicing running down trails is just as important as well. When going up hill, smaller strides are better.

Trail running is so much fun. Knowing your course is key though!! Good Luck!!!