Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

5277 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Aug 26, 2010 1:43 PM by MissMaggie1441 RSS
MissMaggie1441 Amateur 9 posts since
Aug 11, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 26, 2010 9:44 AM

Shin pain and swollen ankle

I have been running for several months now and have been careful to not to do too much too soon. I have been having some nagging pain in my right shin for a little while but it mostly felt like a sore muscle so I have been stretching it and it hasn't really bothered me that much while running. Well last night I noticed that my right ankle was really swollen. I have no pain in my ankle. This morning my ankle was still swollen and i had to cut my run short after 2 miles because of the pain in my shin. It has been several hours since my run and I have been sitting at my desk at work so I have hardly been on my feet at all. I figured the pain should subside but instead it is getting worse. I now have a throbbing pain radiating down the front of my right leg. Does this sound like shin splints? Thanks for any help. I don't want to quit running but I also don't want to seriously injure myself.

• Surfing_Vol Legend 848 posts since
    Nov 6, 2007
    1. Aug 26, 2010 10:14 AM (in response to MissMaggie1441)
    Re: Shin pain and swollen ankle

Miss Maggie,

You have classic shin splint symptoms.

Check on this site for treatment and prevention articles.