Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

988 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Aug 27, 2010 11:47 AM by RunJustincom RSS
Gypsywmn Rookie 4 posts since
Feb 22, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 27, 2010 11:35 AM

Run Walk Program Vs Straight Running

Hey there, I am looking for opinions from well seasoned runners perhaps those that have tried both programs.  I have been running for a few years and completed my first marathon, the Marine Corps Marathon in 2008, am back at training for another race but 1/2 marathon this go around.

I have started off slowly in terms of doing a run walk program for my training this go around, started with a 4/1 split and have just moved up to a 5/1 this week. My goal is to do a 10/1 split by end of September so I can basically run a mile before I take my 1 min walk.

Have you found by experience that you finish stronger when doing a Run/Walk program AND is it true that you finish not that much farther behind someone who ran the race without the walk intervals.  Also do you find you have less or the same amount of injuries or discomfort when doing a run/walk program?

Thanks for all advice and recommendations!

Nicole

• RunJustincom Amateur 17 posts since
    Aug 10, 2010
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Aug 27, 2010 11:47 AM (in response to Gypsywmn)
    Re: Run Walk Program Vs Straight Running

Nicole,