Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2112 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Sep 7, 2010 3:30 AM by JasonFitz1 RSS
BigMacPast50 Amateur 8 posts since
May 14, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 5, 2010 4:55 PM

Skinny looking sickly?

Ok so I've been running for about 4 months now. I'm up to 4 days a week running 20 to 22 miles per week. My legs and knees feel good and I've lost about 18 pounds. I'm 6'1" and 50 years young. When I started my running I weighed in at 180 pounds and now at 162. I've lost all my love handles and any shape to my arms and legs that I had before. My wife says that I look sickly. Are ther any professionals reading that can suggest exercises that  I can do to replace the fat with muscle. I enjoy running but want to look healthier. I need a few basic weight training exercises to "bulk up" my chest and arms and legs. I can pick up a weight bench and weights if needed.  Fire Away.

Thanks

• DaveVause Community Moderator 1,447 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    1. Sep 5, 2010 5:26 PM (in response to BigMacPast50)
    Re: Skinny looking sickly?

Compound movements will give you the most progress in that they work 2 or more joints at the same time. They exercise the primary movers as well as many stabilizing smaller muscles and can be characterized as "holistic" exercises. http://www.criticalbench.com/compound-exercises.htm has a good, terse, write-up on the topic. A single set to failure will provide great benefits; 2 sets, with the second to failure will provide diminishing but more benefit; 3 sets with the last to failure will provide a good 95% of possible benefit.