Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2528 Views 10 Replies Latest reply: Sep 17, 2010 2:00 PM by johnnysocko RSS
erunning2 Rookie 5 posts since
Sep 16, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 16, 2010 3:27 PM

Frustrated Injury

Hello!  I am new to running, and to this forum, so I hope I am posting this in the correct space.

I started running at the begining of the summer.  I have an inner calf pain when I run. Sometimes it is not so bad, sometimes I can barely walk.  It comes and goes.  I think, and I could be wrong, that it is my soleus muscle.  I have this pain in both legs, but it is worse on my right calf.  I have not been able to run for over a week and the pain is still there.  I am SO frustrated.

I have tried, and tried to research this, but always come up empty handed.  The pain is on the inside of my calfs, not the back.  I have no idea what I am doing wrong here.  But I would appreciate any and all help!!!

Thank you!

• Haselsmasher Legend 512 posts since
    May 25, 2009
    1. Sep 16, 2010 3:37 PM (in response to erunning2)
    Re: Frustrated Injury

The phrase "inside the calf" could be interpreted two ways:

*  "Inside" meaning the core of the calf - as in the center - where the bones are.

"  "Inside" meaning the right side of the left calf or the left side of the right calf.

If you mean the center - yes - it could be the Soleus.