Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2814 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Sep 29, 2010 10:12 AM by Maggie:)
mfaulkner89 Rookie 2 posts since
Apr 29, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 22, 2010 4:40 PM

Severe Slump.. Advice?

Hi,

I have been running for at least 3 or 4 years now and I'm working toward a marathon this fall. I finally reached the half marathon mark and then from there, I worked up to a 20 mile race. I didn't stop running - I mean, I took two or three days off in order for my muscles to recooperate, but then I started my training again. All of a sudden, I can't even finish three or four miles without feeling terrible and having to walk. It is extremely discouraging and very worrying to me. Am I hitting a slump? What should I do to get back on my game? I'm going to modify a few dietary things and see if that helps me to step it up, but any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks so much

Michelle

• BowieLinda Pro 136 posts since
    Jul 8, 2010
    1. Sep 22, 2010 4:50 PM (in response to mfaulkner89)
    Re: Severe Slump.. Advice?

Well kids are back in school and daycare and, around here, just about everyone I know has a cold or has just gotten over one .... any chance you are catching something?

I was feeling moderately slumpish too, but I think in my case it's a bit of nerves about my first 5K (blush, I am a newbie!).  Just got back from a run this evening and it went fine so I think I am just questionning my plans.

I hope you feel better in a day or so.  If not, and if you don't find you are coughing and sneezing, I'd say give your doctor a quick call for a checkup.