Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1223 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Sep 27, 2010 12:16 PM by Lola running RSS
Lola running Rookie 6 posts since
Sep 26, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 26, 2010 12:16 PM

Oops. I think I started running. Which week do I start?

Hi, everyone,

I accidentally started running a few weeks ago.

This past August, I began a 6-week training session to get me back into exercising. My trainer was amazing and I saw and felt the results fairly quickly. Well, the sessions were a gift and, after reviewing my budget (I'm a high school teacher), I couldn't afford a personal trainer anymore. However, I was determined to not let that gift of training and all the hard work I put into it go to waste.

So, I've been making a concerted effort to get to my gym and work out. No more elevators for me at work. Watching what I ate and really thinking about the foods I was consuming. The first week, I went 3 times. On that  Sunday, I decided that I would try to run--just to see what happened. I've never run in my life. Imagine my shock when I lifted my towel off the treadmill clock and discovered I had been running for 3 minutes at a speed of 4.0! And the best part was that I wasn't even winded. I walked for 3 minutes, then started running again, and it felt awesome. Needless to say--I'm hooked. When I got home from the gym, I told my boyfriend about the physical and psychological breakthrough that happened to me and it felt so great when he said, "Wow. That's awesome, babe."