Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1912 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Oct 7, 2010 4:08 AM by sueinNC RSS
aer1976 Amateur 10 posts since
Mar 5, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Oct 6, 2010 8:06 AM

Diabetic Beginning Runnners and Rest Days

A little background, I'm an early beginner.  I do run/walk intervals and earlier this year I had gotten up to 1:15 run/2:30 walks 3 days a week but then got very sick and had to stop exercising for 11 weeks (had several nasty lung infections including 2 separate pneumonia infections).  I only last week got approval from my doctor to start exercising again and have lost conditioning so this week I'm doing 45 sec runs/3:00 walks on 3 days a week.  I know that is very little compared to most people but I really did start out as a complete couch potato and have never really exercised in my entire life.  Up until this year I had the mistaken notion that asthmatics can't do cardio so I never even tried.