Yeah, I got that.. just fishing to see if there were any others.
Someone said it was in the NSA book -
Truth is I was too lazy to dig it out and looks like NSA is off my list this year.
I tried to post on the other board, but for some reason it is allowing me to login, but not post.
Anyway, in your sanity check post your were correct, and I don't know why the tournament UIC did not know this.
This is a clip from the USSSA Casebook (2010) page 26.
SITUATION E: No outs, R1 on first, B2 lines out to F6. As R1 returns to 1B, F6 throws the ball out of play.
RULING: R1 is awarded 3B. The fact R1 is returning to 1B does not matter. She is awarded 2 bases from the last base touched. (8-14-C-3).
If you go to the USSSA web site, you can download the casebook.
If you go to the USSSA web site, you can download the casebook
Wow that's great info.
I guess I never thought of going to the web sit and looking for a case book!
(added) I didn't find the same book you did, but I found the January 2010 USSSA Fast Pitch Clarification & Interpretation which has the answer on page 17.
Runners are awarded two bases on overthrows that go out of play or become blocked.
Two bases are awarded from the last base touched at the time the ball left the hand.
Direction of runners has no bearing on the award. When an overthrow is made on a
runner returning to a base, she is awarded two bases from that base.
If she was returning to first base and the throw was from the outfield and it left the
outfielder?s hand while the runner was between second base and third base, but the
runner was between first base and second base when the ball went out of play, the runner
would be awarded home.+
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.