Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

832 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Jul 13, 2010 7:32 PM by HugoTafurst
dave__1110 Amateur 10 posts since
May 30, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 12, 2010 12:40 PM

ITB sub ?

Ok here we go .... in ASA rules,,, I know the drill on international tie breaker but this is something i did but was not sure if it was correct... runner put on 2nd base "last out from prior inning" is a slower runner than one of my subs on the bench so i subbed in the faster runner ... no one questioned me but wanted to confirm that this was OK....

 

Thx Dave

  • rhughes18 Pro 114 posts since
    Feb 18, 2001
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Jul 12, 2010 2:04 PM (in response to dave__1110)
    Re: ITB sub ?

    ITB is the last out of the previous inning or a legal sub, and if it is a runner that is eligible to have a courtesy runner then you may use an eligible courtesy runner.

     

    If you are told by the umpire you can't do that, then wait till the ball is live then ask for time and make your changes.

  • HugoTafurst Legend 515 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    2. Jul 12, 2010 2:11 PM (in response to Delaware ASA UIC)
    Re: ITB sub ?

    ITB is the last out of the previous inning

    I think if you check you will find that the wording does not mention outs, rather the person who is scheduled to bat last that inning (or person furthest in the batting order from the inning lead off batter).

    Can't tell you the exact wording, but in most codes that come to mind, last out is not an issue.

    (When you think about it, it makes sense)





    oops

  • rhughes18 Pro 114 posts since
    Feb 18, 2001
    Currently Being Moderated
    3. Jul 12, 2010 3:45 PM (in response to HugoTafurst)
    Re: ITB sub ?

    you are correct.

  • Delaware ASA UIC Pro 76 posts since
    Jan 9, 2001
    Currently Being Moderated
    5. Jul 12, 2010 4:26 PM (in response to rhughes18)
    Re: ITB sub ?

    Whether for the Tie Breaker or anything else, in ASA you may make legal substitution at any time.

  • Crabby_Bob Rookie 1 posts since
    Jun 14, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    6. Jul 13, 2010 1:41 PM (in response to rhughes18)
    Re: ITB sub ?

    Last Out



    B1: 1B
    B2: HBP
    B3: BB
    B4: IFR,P6
    B5; K
    B6: K, 2U (D3K, play on runner from third.)

    Who then is the "last" out?

  • rhughes18 Pro 114 posts since
    Feb 18, 2001
    Currently Being Moderated
    7. Jul 13, 2010 2:28 PM (in response to rhughes18)
    Re: ITB sub ?

    B1

     

     

    B6, will be the ITB runner at second, her eligible sub or courtesy runner if she is eligible to have one.

     

    Knew that, got it, slip of the proverbial tongue when I typed last out of the previous inning.

     

    I was baited by the Original Post.

     

    It's happened before and might happen again.

     

    I once checked with U1 on a check swing, working a 3 man crew, no runners on base and a left handed batter.

    F2 pointed to U1 and asked if the batter went.  So, being used to working a 2 man crew, I simply pointed to U1 and asked, "Did he go?".

     

     

     

    I got back a "No he did not" from U1 incase anyones wondering.

  • rhughes18 Pro 114 posts since
    Feb 18, 2001
    Currently Being Moderated
    8. Jul 13, 2010 2:39 PM (in response to dave__1110)
    Live ball subs?

    Couldn't resist.

     

     

  • HugoTafurst Legend 515 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    9. Jul 13, 2010 7:32 PM (in response to rhughes18)
    Re: ITB sub ?

    I got back a "No he did not" from U1 incase anyones wondering

     

    Followed by U3: "Yes, he did" ????





    oops

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...