Skip navigation

1972 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Sep 21, 2010 1:36 PM by Alec__5 RSS
lightning 97 Amateur 6 posts since
Nov 16, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 8, 2010 7:59 AM

Foul Ball

Ball is hit over 3rd, Left fielder goes back, half of the player is in fair, half is over the line.  Ball hits in glove but not caught goes to fence.  Home ump says foul ball.

We have a talk, he said it is like a bunt, if player touches it out side the line it is foul, no matter where the player is.

I say the ball is not in play until it hits inside the line, the player is in fair play, ball is live, not like a bunt.

What is the correct call?

  • Az_Umpire Amateur 11 posts since
    May 30, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Sep 8, 2010 10:32 AM (in response to lightning 97)
    Re: Foul Ball

    It's not football. The position of the player does not matter. It's the position of the ball when first touched. If the ball was over foul territory when first touched it would be a foul ball.

     

    Paul

  • Skahtboi Rookie 5 posts since
    Mar 22, 2004
    Currently Being Moderated
    2. Sep 18, 2010 11:35 AM (in response to Az_Umpire)
    Re: Foul Ball

    As you now know, the only thing that matters is the position of the ball when it is first touched.

  • Manny_A Legend 841 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    3. Sep 19, 2010 7:23 AM (in response to Skahtboi)
    Re: Foul Ball

    Well, almost.  There are times when the ball is in fair territory but we rule foul, such as when a batted ball hits the batter while she is still in the batter's box.  The ball could be within fair territory when it hits her, but the ruling is a foul ball as long as she is still in her box.

     

    Also, a batted ball that is legally caught is neither fair nor foul.  It's simply a live ball.  If a fielder catches a batted ball in foul territory, runners may tag up and advance bases.  It only becomes foul should the fielder fail to catch it after touching it.

     

    But I'm sure you already knew that...

  • Alec__5 Rookie 4 posts since
    Aug 31, 2002
    Currently Being Moderated
    4. Sep 21, 2010 1:36 PM (in response to Manny_A)
    Re: Foul Ball

    Manny's comment is especially important if it's a bunt.  Sitch:  Two strikes, player attempts to bunt, the ball bounces down, then up again and hits her or the bat, and stops in fair territory.  Dead ball, and foul ball--which means she's out since it was a fouled bunt attempt.  Yes, you will probably have a discussion with the batter's coach.

       Alec

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...