Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1938 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Dec 4, 2010 9:16 PM by sunsetlizard
sunsetlizard Amateur 11 posts since
Nov 7, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 3, 2010 8:36 PM

Does Stride Matter?

I’ve been running for about 8 months now and after my first race, I had two family members comment on my stride.  They said it was “too short” and “tentative” and that I was too slow because of it.  They are both experienced runners, one is a former distance runner and the other occasionally runs.  So it got me thinking and researching about stride.

I did some research and applied some of it (strength training, stretching) but most everything I have found is for professional/ elite athletes, of which I am not or will ever be. 

What I have discovered:

• My legs, in general, behave better if I run outside.  I guess I get distracted, but I “check in” frequently and adjust my stride and my foot strikes according to how my legs feel or the surface.  The outside route I have is a little over three miles long, with a combination of trail, concrete, asphalt, flats, and inclines.
  • I run intervals or pick-ups  on a treadmill a couple of times a month because it helps me to maintain a consistent stride  and speed without my form falling completely apart.
  • I have added strength training and inner thigh stretches to my weekly routine. These seem to affect the length of my stride especially if I am running down an incline.  (I have glimpsed moments when I thought I might be able to fly. . .)

Factors that may have affected my stride: