Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2253 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Dec 7, 2010 1:45 PM by racebug313 RSS
racebug313 Amateur 25 posts since
Oct 18, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 6, 2010 8:04 AM

12 weeks to my first half...  it's on!

sooooo, I've been running now for a few months and have made the decision to run a half at the end of February, putting it in writing.  Gasparilla in Tampa, FL.

up to now I've been running 3-6 miles several times a week, but never really formally tracked or stuck to a training plan.  well, I have my plan set, got a second pair of training shoes yesterday,  and finally loaded my Garmin software.  I know if forced to by injury, etc, I can and should veer off my plan- but I need the structure especially to get me going and steadily build my miles.

this forum is amazing for support and advice, so I'm putting it out there if anyone has any words of wisdom, or is starting a similar plan around now to please respond!   thank you!

You have a choice- you can throw in the towel, or use it to wipe the sweat off your face

Crossed the line...

Komen Race for the Cure 10K: 1:08

Spartan Challenge 5K + obstacles: 33:05

Creaky Bones 5K: 30:59

St Pete Turkey Trot 10K- 1:07

Gasparilla Half Marathon (1st!)- 2:42

Coming up:

Oct-       Chicago Marathon

• Dog-lover Legend 373 posts since
    Mar 5, 2008
    1. Dec 6, 2010 8:15 AM (in response to racebug313)
    Re: 12 weeks to my first half... it's on!