Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2402 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Jan 7, 2011 11:46 AM by rah2074 RSS
Run4Chocolat Rookie 1 posts since
Dec 31, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 31, 2010 8:46 AM

Newbie to half marathon training? Help?

Hi, I am a newbie here.

I am signing up to run my very first half marathon in September 4th (Disneyland half marathon), I have been trying to build up my running little by little but have some questions for all of you experienced "halfer's" out there.  Here goes...

1. Since my race isn't until September how far should I be running now? The Galloway plan say  start 16 weeks prior. The race is in September which would mean I would start the training in May. So what do I do until then? Do you just run a little every other day and a long run on the weekend and try to eke building it up little by little?
  2. Is there a better plan than Galloway for middle aged moms like me? I haven't decided if the Galloway plan is the best plan yet, but I like the fact that I have been able to go from running 3 miles to finally being able to run 7 (my best yet), by giving yourself the permission to walk for a minute. I have run for years but could never run more than 3 miles.