Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3057 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: Jan 16, 2011 9:56 PM by nikkicarr1
nikkicarr1 Legend 314 posts since
Apr 28, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 9, 2011 6:04 PM

Post marathon deflation

I have been running for about 2 1/2 years now and love it.  Dec 5th I ran my first Marathon RNR Las Vegas, and for days maybe even a few weeks I was on a post marathon high- infact started looking at 2011 events to plan out all my race events (did not register for any at this time due to the altered mental status).  I did decide that I would give myself until after the holidays to rest and relax before getting back to training.  I started back to the gym last week but did not hit up my normal spin or yoga classes and I still have not run....I just feel deflated, is this normal?  I miss running but am lacking---I know once I get back out there I will be fine but just getting out there is UUUggg!!!!  Even got my new shoes staring at me.

http://www.active.com/donate/PawsoverPittsburgh/nikkicarr

COMPLETED

2009: Opperation Troop Appreciation 5k oct 29:44 (first race), Greensburg Turkey Trot 5k nove 31:09

2010: On Deck for the Cure sprint 1mi 1-4 9:00, Race for Grace 5k 3-20 32:11, Yough River Council 1/2 marathon 4-10 2:16:39 (goal for 1st 1/2 2:25) 3rd in AG, Pittsburgh Komen Race for the Cure 5k 5-9 30:08, Jerry Mahar Jr Parkinsons Awareness 5k 6-5-10 29:28 6th in AG

Las Vegas Rock N Roll Marathon 12-5 5:01:?? FIRST FULL MARATHON (with calf tear)