Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

2256 Views 13 Replies Latest reply: Jan 16, 2008 9:34 AM by Eager runnner RSS
Eager runnner Rookie 16 posts since
Dec 14, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 12, 2007 10:58 AM

race  tactics and training advice for 10 mile race

I am planning on running a 10 mile in march and i was wondering what is best way to run  it like a half marathon or more like a 10k. So I guess I am asking of much speed work  and tempo training  I should do before. My background is that I have been running for about 4 years average 25-35 mph for first 3 years. In that time I run .1.30 half marathon and couple 5k in the 20.00 ish range, 20-25 mph for last year. any race or training advice would be appreciated

• fredurie Legend 1,895 posts since
    Aug 21, 2002

10 mile progression runs.
    4 times 2 miles, 2 times 5k
    more mileage

www.mcmillanrunning.com/rununiv/progressionruns.htm[/URL" target="_blank">

[http://This message has been edited by fredurie (edited Dec-12-2007).|http://This message has been edited by fredurie (edited Dec-12-2007).]

• ninetonite Rookie 70 posts since
    Aug 15, 2004
    2. Dec 31, 2007 11:41 AM (in response to fredurie)
    Re: race tactics and training advice for 10 mile race

If you aren't doing any long runs then start them. Begin with 16km and work your way up to say 23-25km.  Also work on your overall mileage, try to get in a few weeks at 35-40miles.  And if you can a weekly race pace effort, 5km @ target 10mile race pace.  A couple 5km or 10km races before target race and you're there.

• JPGarland Legend 776 posts since