Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

1449 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Feb 8, 2011 7:06 PM by Rich_Ives
DavidAllan Rookie 2 posts since
Feb 8, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 8, 2011 8:07 AM

NFHS Rules Question

With the game tied in the bottom of the seventh inning and no outs, B1 draws a walk. B2, attempting to bunt R1 to second, lays down a bunt that is rolling down first base foul line in foul ground. The ball hits a rock and is deflected toward the foul line, and if not stopped, it will cross the line and be fair. F2 seeing this happening and knowing he would have no play on either runner, stops the ball while it is in foul territory with his mask that is held in his throwing hand. Stifling your emotions, you rule: 

 

a.    Foul ball, return R1 to first.

b.    Foul ball, but R1 gets second since he was there when the ball became foul

c.    Award R1 third and B2 second.

d.    Award R1 home and B2 third, the game is over.

 

 

I read in the rule book that it's a 3 base award when a FAIR batted ball is contacted with detached player equipment but I couldn't find anything for a ball in foul territory. Would this be handled as a fair ball since it was prevented from going fair?

 

Thanks

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...