Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

639 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Mar 10, 2011 7:41 PM by rocdoc50 RSS
jeanawright Rookie 1 posts since
Oct 18, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 10, 2011 7:02 PM

Frustrated!

I am training for 2 ten mile runs in April, Gettsyburg Marathon RELAY in May and DC Olympic Triathlon in June. I had hoped to do a half marathon in the fall and a half ironman next year.  I have been running for about 2 years and am a 47 year old woman.  Last year I ran lots of 5Ks (10 - 15) 2  10Ks, a sprint triathlon and a olympic triathlon. Training was going great until I got sore calf muscles during a swimming lesson.  My calves have continued to bother me with my running.  I don't know what to do.  I stopped running for 8 days and then continued.  My 9 mile run this past weekend was alright.  My calf just feels very tight at the beginning of runs and after.   Usually once I run a few miles it feels better.   I don't know if I should go to the doctor or stretch more or what. I believe when I hurt my calves swimming was the same time it got warm enough to add my biking into my training, so that might not have helped.  Biking feels good on the calf. Swimming seems to work out the pain also.   This week I did a 6 mile bike ride and then a 3 mile run and that didn't feel good.  Then on my 4 mile run today it stayed tight. Sometimes it is the calf muscle on the inside of my leg and sometimes it seems to move more around to the front near the shin area. It never hurts intensely just makes me limp until it loosens up. So my question is what should I do?