Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

3554 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: Mar 27, 2011 3:50 PM by Evielou82 RSS
Evielou82 Rookie 6 posts since
Mar 17, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 17, 2011 3:32 PM

Need advice on how to survive week 5 of c25k

Hi everyone, I am new to running/jogging. I started this journey on Jan 3rd to lose weight and get healthier. Since then I have lost 20 lbs and a ton of inches. I have also found that I love running. I am running/walking a 5k this weekend. I am doing a c25k class with our parks dept and have learned some good tips, however I still can not run more than 10 min without stopping. I know I am getting better because at first the 60 secs were grueling but I cant seem to break past running/jogging 10 mins. I made it to week 5 on cool runnings program and can not seem to get to running 20 mins. I really want to go farther but my breathing gets rapid and I have a hard time. I am getting better at breathing in through my nose and out my mouth. Still a learning proccess though.  Just curious if anyone had any tips on endurance. Thank you everyone.

couch 25k class completed 3/17/11

St patricks day dash 5k 48 mins 3/19/2011

• makanasmom Amateur 12 posts since
    Mar 2, 2011
    1. Mar 17, 2011 3:53 PM (in response to Evielou82)
    Re: Need advice on how to survive week 5 of c25k