Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1609 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Apr 3, 2011 12:58 PM by NAddice RSS
NAddice Rookie 3 posts since
Apr 1, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 1, 2011 6:42 PM

Starting C25K on 4/11

Hello! I'm a complete newbie starting the C25K program on 4/11. I'm aiming to run my first 5K on July 9th. The only problem that I can forsee is that I have never enjoyed running before. I will be the first to admit that I'm also a little lazy. The tiniest thing can convince me not to go out and exercise. I think a virtual running partner might help but I definitely need motivation ideas! Is anyone else starting around the date that I am and looking for a partner? Any ideas on how to get motivated? Thanks!

• MonieMc Pro 62 posts since
    Mar 22, 2011
    1. Apr 2, 2011 8:54 AM (in response to NAddice)
    Re: Starting C25K on 4/11

What got me motivated to start and stay with this program is to register for races and get a couple of friends to run with me. So, get registered for a race or two and get some friends to run with you. You can do it. Instead of starting on the 11th. Start NOW! Go buy a good pair of running shoes. It makes a difference. I bought a pair, yesterday and it made a world of difference on my knees. You can do this!

Upcoming races:

Aug 13 - Warrior Dash

Sept 3 - Indianapolis Women's Half Marathon

Nov 12 - Qdoba 15K

Mar 22, 2011
    3. Apr 3, 2011 8:00 AM (in response to NAddice)